Our Cooperation

ASEAN Economic Community (AEC)

ASEAN Economic Community (AEC)

AEC has been promoted with the aim of reducing the economic and development gap between ASEAN member countries. Thailand stands ready to take a leading role in conducting the development cooperation with other countries both in bilateral and trilateral forms. Thailand’s support has been designed in accordance with specific needs of each ASEAN country which ultimately will contribute to the strengthening of the ASEAN Community in the three pillars: political-security, economic, and socio-cultural, as well as the implementation of the Master Plan on ASEAN Connectivity.

Ayeyawady-Chao Phraya-Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy (ACMECS)

ACMECS, comprising Cambodia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Thailand, and Vietnam, was originally initiated by Thailand to serve as a cooperation framework to bridge the economic gap among the member countries and to promote the sub-regional prosperity withstanding diversified economic capabilities. The fields of cooperation under ACMECS include trade and investment facilitation, agricultural cooperation, industrial and energy cooperation, transport linkages, tourism cooperation, and human resource development. In 2011, Thailand has made contribution to the ACMECS framework in the amount of 10.38 million baht.

Greater Mekong Sub-region (GMS)

GMS was initiated by Asian Development Bank (ADB) in 1882 to promote the sub-regional cooperation of six countries including Cambodia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Thailand, Vietnam and Southern China PRC (Yunnan Province). The cooperation covers nine following areas: transportation, telecommunication, energy, trade, investment, agriculture, environment, tourism, and human resource development. Thailand’s contribution to GMS has been provided in the form of development partnership with ADB, which in 2010 and 2011, Thailand has given 22.15 and 1.10 million baht respectively to support the human resource development activities under this framework.

Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand – Growth Triangle (IMT-GT)

IMT-GT is the cooperation between Indonesia, Malaysia and Thailand on six areas including 1) trade and investment, 2) agriculture, agro-based industry and environment, 3) tourism, 4) infrastructure and transportation, 5) human resources development, and 6) halal products and services. Thailand’s participation in IMT-GT focuses on the prosperity of Southern provinces of Thailand in relations to the IMT sub-regional development which involves participation from both public and private sectors.


Cooperation framework  of seven countries which are; Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Bhutanese Sri Lanka to undertakings Thailand branch collaboration focused on the Trade and Investment, Transport and Communication, Tourism, Energy, HRD, Agriculture and Fisheries, Science and. Technology, Culture, Counter-Terrorism and Transnational Crimes, Environment and Disaster Management, Public Health, and People to People Contact.


ASEAN-IAI ( ASEAN-Initiative for ASEAN Integration)

The purpose of cooperation framework is to provide the ASEAN member countries; Lao PDR. Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar and Vietnam to improve the level of economic development. and to increase competitiveness and  reduce the development gap among  ASEAN countries by  providing assistance to the development of a focal in the field. Infrastructure Development, HRD, Information and Communication Technology and Regional Economic Integration Thailand has been designated as Chairman. (Co-Shepherd) to coordinate transportation assistance. For technical cooperation has focused on the development of human resources in various fields related to the year. Since 2011 Thailand has provided assistance in the framework of ASEAN-IAI, worth 0.66 million baht